Skip to content

Vagina Wax

September 22, 2012

Some areas on the body are awkward to wax. Underarm is weird, but super easy and great to get waxed. Anything on the face is understandable and pretty simple (for the most part, it’s easy to screw up a brow wax if you don’t know what you are doing). The vagina is another story.

Yes, I said vagina. Unlike portions of the republican party, the word doesn’t scare me. Being a person that owns one and runs around with it all day, I should feel comfortable calling it what it is. (End rant.)

Vaginas are special, and since no two are alike, waxing one presents it own unique challenges. Doing a basic bikini wax is nothing, that’s said and done in less then 10 minutes. During the winter months I can finish one of those puppies quicker then my clients can get their boots off!

Now the Brazilian is another song and dance. Sure with the right wax I can get that done in 20 min or less, but there is still an art to it. You have to be very aware of the skin, hair growth patterns and what you are doing down there. Your client doesn’t want to get burned on her whoo-ha! Usually it also involves a little bit of client participation to help keep the skin taunt. Novices are typically unprepared for that.

Being that we are in northern California, people get waxed year round. I know a lot of women who like the personal grooming for their own reasons and budget the upkeep year round. But here, you could need a bathing suit at anytime, people like to be prepared.

Maybe it’s a double standard but I don’t do genital waxing for men. That’s more then I need to know about. Sure people do that, but when I get an inquiry, I quickly refer them to the more adventurous gals that I know.

If you haven’t had a bikini wax and are thinking about it, talk to your girl friends, see who they’ve been too. Find out their experiences. Find a technician who loves her job and loves to do waxing. You’ll be hooked on waxing if you have only ever shaved before.

From → Beauty, My work

4 Comments
  1. waxing is one bit of the course I am very much looking forward to – well looking forward to learning! After todays tanning experience (patchy!) im not so sure I trust my classmates to do a good job on me lol

    Like

    • Tanning is super tricky and it is an art form of some sorts, it just takes time to learn the product and consistency. Waxing is a blast and you will love it when you get there!

      Like

      • I guess I was more disapointed because I did good job on her (and i do a good job on my own tans lol) and she did a half baked job on me doh! But I shall continue looking forward to the waxing 😀

        Like

      • I can totally relate! It irritates me to no end when I do a service for some one, knowing that I am putting my best foot forward, and then they turn around and do a completely half-assed job on me! I look forward to hearing about how you do with waxing!

        Like

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

