Skip to content

Week 4 2012 Season in the Books

September 22, 2012

Its Friday night, well technically I guess it’s early Saturday morning, so that means it was game time. Good game tonight, better then the last few weeks. The kids are growing and getter stronger in their knowledge and the expectations on the field.

I don’t get overly involved at games. I don’t draw attention to myself. (Ok, so I am not including the f-bomb I yelled from the stands 2 games ago aimed at a completely incompetent ref. It flew out of my mouth as if I had a brief moment of Tourette’s. Yes half the stands stared at me but I was so justified.) Unless its homecoming, or on the occasion that we are on a hot winning streak, I dress as I would any other day. Yes I have a school t-shirt, which I have glued rhinestones to, and sometimes I do a school themed manicure. I tend to go unnoticed. Which I like.

Tonight I ended up sitting between my mother in law and 4-6 JV players who were not aware of who I was. Not an uncommon thing for the JV players. I met a few parents and gave some hugs and high fives to others. My mother in law threatened to eat the leg off one of the before mentioned JV players as they were terrorizing our personal space. It was lovely. They stopped when told that I was the coach’s wife. Lucky for them I chose not to rat them out to the head JV coach, that coach is so over the immaturity. But hey, it’s high school. CC doesn’t deal with JV as much as varsity.

It was a quiet night after the game. Those of us that met up later were exhausted. CC went to bed while we still had people in the house. Everyone put in a lot of time into this last game. Things are really starting to come together for these kids this season.

My least favorite part of my post game rituals includes going on line and getting all the scores from all the other area teams. It’s exciting to see our friends and favored teams get killer wins, sometimes you come across a score and wonder what happened at that game and who can we call to get the dirt? We are enjoying that our alma mater is having a great year this year. Hoping for a playoff berth for them, especially since we no longer have to play against them in the same league! Here’s hoping that alumni night will not be on the same night that we have a game this year.

It’s a bummer to see some of the wins. It can be a good glimpse of what we could be up against in the future. While I full heartedly believe that every kid that plays deserves the praise and joy of being apart of a team, there are some coaches it’s nice to see aren’t winning (like the coach that goes home to do blow all weekend then spends Monday preaching anti-drug sentiments). That’s so gossipy, I do apologize. I am sure some sort of karma will come back to me for it, but the drama and in and outs of high school football are neurotic, stressful and never ending.

I look forward to next week, its an away game. Week 5 of football. We are already into league play in our league, most others won’t be until week 6. We have more teams in our grouping then pretty much any other league. Here’s hoping for a win!

From → Football

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

