Skip to content

I Wanna Start a Fight

September 24, 2012

I have been feeling very catty the last couple days. Almost like I have been looking for a fight or argument. I feel all fired up. There are a lot of opinions flying around and I am feeling a heavy need to express mine, but not in a nice way.

Sometimes it’s necessary to open one’s mouth and debate, maybe tonight it’s not. I don’t want to make any enemies especially with people I don’t even know or only talk to superficially on Facebook. Oh, drama how I hate thee.

Someone was talking about how they aren’t getting a flu shot due to the pain it can cause at the injection sight. People were then discussing their own personal reasons for not getting one or stating why you had to get one. I personally do not get the flu shot. It’s a personal choice. Never have, never will. I just don’t get sick. I might get one bad head cold, but not the flu. Mind you, I work with the public and have human contact all day long. Everyone I know who gets the flu shot does in fact get sick. I don’t think that’s from the shot itself, they just get sick. I think its a false security blanket for some people. “Oh i can’t get sick, i got the flu shot. So l won’t wash my hands and will be irresponsible with my health.” I honestly think that because of the fact I am constantly around people is why I don’t get sick. I am always exposed which allows my system to build up the antibodies it needs to fight illness. Makes sense to me.

I take my vitamins, take double the amount of vitamin C this time of year. I drink plenty I water and I wash my hands constantly. I am not worried about getting the flu or dying from it. Good lord. Maybe that’s naive, but I need less things to worry about, not more.

I am not anti-vaccination by any means, but the flu shot seems excessive. Maybe it’s good for infants and the elderly, and in that case they can have mine. I will continue to forgo getting the shot.

Valid stance right? I had already stated some of this and another gal was saying that regardless of vitamins and hand washing I should be getting the shots because the flu is bad and “people die from it”. Now I could get into with this person, but what the hell for? As much as I wanted to drop a snarky response, I refrained. I feel that creeping itch to get into a heavy debate with someone. I am just itching for someone to set me off. Maybe I need to go for a run or get a tattoo and get this angst out of my system. Ugh. I hope this passes. Otherwise it will end up being a very long week.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

