Skip to content

Make-up, My Love

October 27, 2012

Lately I have been way into these make up tutorials online. It’s hard to not marvel at the art and talent that these ladies have. I have always had a huge love for make up. How could you not? I don’t buy a ton of make up, but I am always very willing to try new things and see what’s out there.

I have an arsenal of make up brushes. For anything powder based I prefer natural brushes: it just makes application and blending so much smoother. For liquid foundations I always apply with a synthetic brush then blend out with a sponge. I like Benefit’s concealer brush for this. The size is perfect for control, plus I can still use it for blending concealer.

I am not particular to any one brand of make up, a lot of women aren’t. Even with foundations I am constantly trying different things out. My clients are always asking about products, I like to be able to tell them that I have tried, touched or at least seen what they are talking about. I am currently hooked on Neutrogena’s new Stay Matte foundation. Haven’t gotten to try the powder yet because it’s always sold out of the stores that I shop at.

Side note: I am a bit of a snob regarding where I shop. I like to shop at places with amazing customer service and happy employees. Yes, I may pay more, but the trade off is enjoyable shopping experiences and CLEAN stores. I love Target. LOVE! The closest 4 stores around our area are clean, bright and have very helpful staff. I shop Sephora in store and on line. I really can’t stand Ulta, terrible customer service, but sometimes the sales are hard to pass up. I will shop CVS (I miss Long’s Drugs so badly), but find they are typically pricy when compared to Target. Walgreens I don’t care for and I don’t do Walmart at all. I do like cult brands Limecrime and Sugarpill but those are online only.

There are so many decisions and choices when looking for makeup. I am big on color an pigment. Today I am sporting hot pink and line green shadow. I don’t do a lot of neutrals or natural look make up for myself. My wedding was the last time that happened simply because I wanted to look timeless in my photos. I have friends who adore the Naked pallet by Urban Decay, but I would never use that.

I am fortunate enough to be working in an industry that promotes creativity and is generally accepted. I created a stir one time because of a tangerine eyeshadow, oh how I loved it, and it made my brown eyes sparkle! It was a little much for some of my clients however.

Putting on make up is a ritual for me. Never a burden. I love it. I love everything about it. Never be afraid of make up, or color. Check out YouTube for amazing video tutorials. You find there’s an incredible amount of people out there looking to share their secrets with you.

From → Beauty, My work

2 Comments
  1. I love makeup too. I just read someone else’s blog post on here and they basically said that everyone who wears makeup day in and day out all must have very low self-esteem. I had to refrain from leaving a comment there. Makeup (if done correctly) is about expression and it’s really fun. Just like painting a picture is fun. It’s like painting on your face. A new canvas everyday. And yes, I do think I look better with it. Does that mean I think I look bad without it? No. I look more plain and “Jane”. Who wants to be plain though?

    Like

    • I love your comment about a “blank canvas”! That’s exactly how I feel about makeup and tattoos! I think that makeup isn’t for everyone, but I, under no circumstances, have poor self-esteem! Who does that person think they are? The best parts of being a girl are makeup, nail polish, clothes and shoes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

