Skip to content

Adventures in Movie Land

November 16, 2012

My mother-in-law is kind of a badass. I have adored her since the day I met her. She’s intelligent, well read, loves wine and speaks her mind without hesitation. She’s so generous with us and very supportive. She has never once hassled me for grandchildren, in fact she encourages me not to have them. She does love her grand-cats and always watches them when we go out of town.

Last night a local movie theater was doing a showing of “To Kill A Mockingbird”. This is my MIL’s favorite book. I am so glad that I had the opportunity to share the moment of seeing this movie with her. The only thing i didn’t realize was that last night was the midnight opening for the new Twilight movie. Needless to say, between her and my husband, the inappropriate comments flew.

I read the Twilight series years ago. My then roommate’s daughter was reading them and I purchased the series for another friend’s daughter as well. I read the books along with the girls. So, yes they were kind of entertaining in that easy-to-read kind of way. I found Bella to be highly irritating and a horrid role model for young readers. (Katniss Everdean on the other hand, from the Hunger Games Novels, that’s a strong female character I can get behind.)

We met another couple at the theater and by the time we got there, mind you it was barely 6:30, there was a line wrapped around the building for midnight showings of the final movie for Twilight. There were actually people sitting in lawn chairs in the theater because they had been there all day. Apparently the goal was to get there early enough to get good seats in the theater. Do these people not have jobs? My MIL was appalled at the sight of women her age in line for this.

I get the need to have to see a movie when it comes out. I do understand the excitement. My only thing is just that movies hit DVDs and in store sales within 6 months these days. I rather wait and watch the movie in the comfort of my home then waste a day sitting on the floor of a dirty movie theater. I can admit that I saw all of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies on opening weekends. However, I usually saw them on Sunday nights at 10 pm. No crowds, no standing around. I was obsessed with having to see the Hunger Games during the opening week, but having no interest in dealing with crowds and teeny boppers, I went on a Wednesday night at 8pm. I guess I am getting old.

My MIL told two people that they redid the ending and that a Cullen dies in the movie. Several panicked faces told her she was a liar. (I was trying to keep a straight face and not pee myself while giggling.) Then, while leaving the now packed parking lot after our movie, she told another group of kids that Edward gets raped by a werewolf and that’s how the movie ends. I couldn’t stop laughing. Of course she said this statement much more graphically and I have edited her as not to offend. But holy goodness it was awesome!

I love being in public with her. I love the things that come out of her mouth. She can make any night so much more interesting.

*Note: I have nothing against the Twilighters that went to the opening night movie, I have many dear friends who went last night. It’s not my cup of tea, but if it makes you happy then good for you. I hope you had a wonderful time and that you didn’t take any crap from anyone. 🙂

From → Family

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

