Skip to content

Thanks for the Day Off

November 21, 2012

Thanksgiving is tomorrow and I am as ready as I will be. Luckily I don’t have to worry about cooking or preparing anything, which is good. I don’t really cook.

I always go the night before and help my mom prepare and get set up. We get the table done and most of the prep for the side dishes. It’s pretty easy. We have it down to a science and this year it’s even simpler because there will only be 8 of us for dinner (9 if you include my 18 month old niece).

The day will start tomorrow by dropping a car off at my folks house. CC and I have a friend who is joining us for the day with his new girlfriend. We do early afternoon “dinner” 45 minutes north of my parents at CC’s uncle’s. We eat, we drink, we tell dirty jokes with CC’s mom. Then we leave after 2 hours and come back to my folks to eat, drink and play board games. It’s very exciting. Kind of.

I am not a huge fan of thanksgiving. It’s my least favorite meal and frankly I would rather celebrate the things I am thankful for everyday rather then once a year. Personally I think it’s become a day of marathon eating to celebrate shopping.

It bugs me that year after year holiday shopping is forced down our throats earlier and earlier. Since when is a holiday meal an excuse to go shopping? If you can’t tell already, I don’t do Black Friday shopping. I have worked retail and I salute all that do, but it’s not for me. I am grateful that we dumped cable a year ago and don’t have to sit though all the commercials for the sales and specials for things I don’t need (I am also thankful for getting to miss all the election crap!). I plan to spend Friday painting my bedroom and giving a friend a lesson on how to shape her eyebrows. Speaking of which I need to do my own….

Ugh. Oh well. CC has been off all week. We haven’t seen each other any more then we would have if it was a school week. The plan is to go get a Christmas tree on Sunday. The weather should be perfect for driving to Costco and picking one out. Lord, that sounds so Grinch-y. I actually love Christmas. December can’t come fast enough.

From → Family

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving History Through Imagery

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

