Skip to content

Christmas Memories

December 5, 2012

Last night on my 20 minute commute home I decided to put on some Christmas tunes. I have been listening to holiday music already this year, but I find that is is the icing on the cake during the Christmas season for me.

Christmas music evokes memories of past Christmas’ and some songs have such strong memories attached that they even bring on tears. Some songs move me in such a powerful way. Maybe that ties into my faith at some level, but I believe it’s the traditions and memories that fuel the emotional response.

I sang in choirs throughout all of my youth. In high school I spent all four years in choir. During the holidays I sang at countless nursing homes and various dinner parties where companies made donations to the choir to have us there. I went caroling with friends, even once in the snow in Lake Tahoe! I know just about every Christmas carol. Whats even better is that I know the harmony since I am an alto.

Growing up we had very close family friend’s whose home we went to every year on Christmas Day for 20 years. That tradition only really ended in the last 5 years as all the kids started getting married and new traditions were being created. Those Christmas’s were amazing though. Lots of food, lots of love, sometimes even watching a basketball game or a walk in the cold to see holiday lights. The best part was the after desert group sing along. There were a few great piano players that would take turns playing every Christmas song. We even had song books for those who didn’t quite know all the words.

Oh my. Even as I write this I am getting teary eyed. It was such an amazing part of my childhood. That was Christmas for me. Getting to sing with my mom and our family and friends. The gift of music and song has been so important in my life, but Christmas carols touch a part of my heart that nothing else can. There’s an emotional love and the sense of family and spirit that overcomes me when I sing them. I can’t make it though Silent Night, Silver Bells or Angles We Have Heard on High without misty eyes. The Christmas Song is a personal favorite.

The love for these memories is something I do treasure. That’s the heart of Christmas for me. It’s not about gifts or food or spending money. It’s the people you spend it with. It’s how those people have helped to shape you as a person. December is so magical and every night as I sit in my house with all the lights off except the Christmas trees I reflect on what it means to me. Its a time to enjoy the people you love and to celebrate the year you spent with them. It’s a time for the young and old to come together and enjoy old traditions while forging new ones.

It’s a season of so many things, but it’s always about love and family and friends for me. Singing Christmas songs brings me into those moments. Into the places in my heart that I cherish. Thats what Christmas really is for me.

The picture I have included today is my parent’s Christmas Tree.

20121205-123628.jpg

From → Family, Holidays

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

