Skip to content

What Your Massage Therapist is Thinking When You Are Naked On the Table

December 7, 2012

A client today asked me an odd question. Ok, maybe it’s not that odd, but I don’t think that anyone has ever asked me this question before. The question was: “What do you think about during a massage?”

Let me start by telling you what I don’t think about while I am massaging you:

1) I don’t think about or care about the fact that you haven’t shaved your legs.

2) I don’t notice or pay attention to your cellulite.

3) I probably didn’t think about the zit on your shoulder, and if I did, I probably offered to put a bit of a clay mask on it to take down the inflammation.

4) I did notice your tattoos, but I don’t care about them.

5) I don’t notice your tan lines, but I will take note of a sunburn and may choose to lecture you on being more cautious next time you go to the lake and don’t think it’s important to wear sunblock.

With that out of the way lets get started on what I do think about:

1) I wonder why your skin is dry. Lack of water intake? Maybe too much alcohol at your cousin’s wedding last weekend? Medications? Genetics? Too much time in the sauna or steam room? Do you travel on air planes a lot for work? I might choose to use a heavier massage cream in this situation.

2) I notice that your heels are dry and wonder if you wear flip flops as much as do. I then get out a foot balm and slather it onto your feet. Then I might even put your socks on for you. You don’t notice. You thank me for being attentive enough to keep your feet warm.

3) I make my grocery list, make mental notes of bills that need to get paid, I think about what I am going to make for dinner. This especially happens if I find a good groove in my massage. My brain wanders.

4) I think about my next vacation or the ocean (occasionally they are one in the same). Thinking about this calms me down and helps me get centered, especially if I have had a hectic week. It actually helps me relax you more because my brain finds its happy place and I can relax into my work.

5) I notice your pedicure/manicure. I may offer to do a free polish change after the massage if time permits.

6) Sometimes I wonder if my next client will be on time because I might want to spend 5 more minutes on your right hip but still want to have enough time to give you a full scalp massage.

7) I silently sing along to the massage music. Some of it I know by heart, sometimes I have instrumental versions of popular music on and you didn’t notice, but I can’t help but mouth the words.

8) I think about your last massage and how your body has changed. Are you tighter? Looser? Does that shoulder need more attention? Did your sprained ankle heal well? Do you need lavender oil for the burn you got taking a pie out of the oven on Thanksgiving?

9) I pay attention to your breathing. Are you asleep? Are you tensing? Is your breath shallow or is it coming from your belly? I may stop the massage to walk you though some deep breathing techniques, this is for your benefit.

10) I look to see if you are relaxing. If you are talking too much I might only respond with short answers. Not because I don’t want to talk, sometimes I am happy to do so, sometimes you need me to talk. Most of the time, you need to be quite and relax. You need that hour to be taken care of and have “me time”. Again, I might do some breathing with you to help you settle down. It’s your hour, and especially this time of the year, it might be the only time you relax.

I think that about sums it up. I am always focused on my client and his or her’s needs, but like I mentioned, sometimes, especially when my body takes over and knows the steps of the dance, my brain thinks about my personal stuff. What I do is so amazing. It soothes me, it makes my life more complete. I love being able to share that with you. After all, I wouldn’t be doing this without you.

From → Massage, My work

2 Comments
  1. widowwisdom permalink

    Love it! It is so true too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

