Skip to content

New Year’s Day

January 1, 2013

20130101-120255.jpg

While laying in bed last night, well technically, it was early this morning, I had one simple wish for the New Year – more love. Not that I personally don’t have enough love, I just want to see more of it go round.

I was saddened to hear that as we were enjoying our view and our evening of champagne and fresh crab, that all the New Year’s festivities at home were cancelled because 3 people were shot and 2 more died. There has been too much loss to guns in the last month, I don’t want to see that carried over into 2013.

I have a dear friend that experienced a horrid breakup nearly a year ago. He still holds on to what could have been and what should have been. He drinks to avoid moving forward and doesn’t allow himself the opportunity to experience the possibility of finding someone new to share his life with. He really believes she was his only chance to have happiness. Personally, I feel that he is over looking the difficult things he went through with her simply because he’s lonely and misses the love.

I wish him love in 2013. I hope that something presents itself for him to give him hope and to guide him into the next chapter.

I have had other friends who have had breakups this year, one breakup in particular I think was harder on the surrounding friends then the two people actually involved. I have friends who had experienced some great losses, and I wish and hope that at night they can find a peaceful place in their hearts to find joy and solace.

I feel lucky, blessed really, that I can be enveloped in love and friendship. I know I cannot take that for granted, but rather I have to nurture it and constantly let the people I love know that they are valued and needed. Too quickly we forget the importance of reminding others why we cherish them.

So on this January 1st, as I whale watch and drink wine, my New Year’s Resolution is to love even more and to tell those that I love them. Petty fights and ridiculous arguments won’t mar this year. There will be more hope, more joy and lots and lots of laughter.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

