Skip to content

Brow waxing

January 9, 2013

There is one question more then any other I hear from people at work regarding waxing, “how often do I need to do this?” First off, everyone is different. What seems to be a good waxing schedule for you might not be appropriate for your best friend. Most of my wax clients I see every 2-4 weeks for eyebrows. Body waxing isn’t much different, but since most people’s hair grows at different rates, I just need a quarter inch to wax, and that’s usually in that 3-5 week range.

With eyebrows and facial waxing, I prefer that most of my clients are at 3 weeks. Going 4 weeks for some can turn a “clean up wax” into a reshaping. Some gals have hair that grows fast, others have slower growing hair. I do have a few clients I see every other week like clockwork. We are talking standing appointments set months in advance. Then I have people who are every 6 weeks because they simply don’t think about it. With that said, most of my Asian clients come in at 6 weeks just because they tend to have slower growing hair.

For most people 3-4 weeks is easy to do an easy to schedule. Especially if they are trying to maintain a specific brow shape. A client I have coming in today is a great example. She’s every 3 weeks, I will see if L will let me share her brows with you today. I do have a few clients who we are intentionally scheduling 5-6 weeks. These gals are growing their brows out but still want to look well groomed. With the trend toward a fuller, more natural brow, I have more and more clients who are trying to obtain this look.

This is actually fantastic for me because my preference is a fuller more natural brow, yes natural, but well groomed. It is so much more flattering and it makes an incredible difference in a women’s look. A skinny brow can age a woman by 10 years! A fuller natural brow is more youthful and looks great on nearly everyone.

There’s truly an art to a great brow wax. This isn’t simply about slapping on wax and removing stray hairs. It’s about creating a shape to the brow that flatters the facial features of the client. I’ve had bad brow waxes. You can tell when a technician doesn’t pay attention to trends or styles. When reading fashion magazines or looking through make up how to’s online, my eyes go to the brows first. Bad brows can ruin great make up. I’ve never let an esthetician wax me that has brows that look like commas. That shape is outdated and looks terrible.

When looking for a new shape for brows I always suggest picking up a current fashion magazine and scouring the ads until a brow jumps out at you. You may have to make a commitment to grow your brows out to achieve a different look, but it’s so worth it, it can change your whole face.

My point is this, when you make your next appointment, don’t see it as a burden to come back in 3 weeks, especially if you have no intention to maintain the shape on your own. All my regulars know not to touch their brows in between waxings because they don’t want to mess with what I have been doing. I know that financially some people can’t afford to come so often, but a lot of estheticians offer incentives of free waxes when you pay ahead or after you have come in so many times. A good brow wax can change your day, trust me.

From → Beauty, My work

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

