Skip to content

Priorities of the Head Coach

January 9, 2013

There’s something I have to share with you on the off chance that you ever marry or date a football coach, especially a head football coach. I know I have already shared that there is no off season, but here’s something else: Football will have the tendency to dominate or beat out other priorities. This is the exact reason why I was a June bride as opposed to an October bride as I had always planned and dreamed about. With CC I knew better. If I needed to have his full attention for wedding planning I had to have a June wedding. In fact, we even got married on the last day of school so that the wedding didn’t cut into spring or summer football at all.

Yesterday, CC came home sick. I stayed home to be with him and to take him in for a chest X-ray. His doctor wants to make sure that he doesn’t have walking pneumonia. Last night, after waking up from sleeping on the couch for 2 hours he tells me he has to be up at 5:30 the next morning. I asked why, and was specifically told not to give him shit for needing to get some work done. I told him he could do what he wanted, but why not sleep in? He said he needed to let kids into the weight room in the morning. Doesn’t anyone else have a key to this damn weight room?!

I dropped the subject and spoke little to him for the rest of the night. He got a substitute for today and tomorrow, but sure enough he went to weights this morning. Weights is from 7-8 am, he walked into the house at 8:45. The priority is to be with the team. He can’t miss a day, and we are in the damn “off season”!

It makes me laugh when he says that he won’t always coach football. I look at a day like today and laugh at his assumption that he’ll be able to stop coaching. It’s his first passion in life. It’s what makes him tick. Neither rain, sleet or disease will stop him and his efforts. Can’t help but respect that, even if it sometimes makes me want to claw my eyes out.

From → Football, Marriage

One Comment
  1. Anna permalink

    So very true! My coach works way in to the night, then again at the wee hours of the morning — all for the love of the sport, his kids, his coaches, & the game!

    Like

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

