Skip to content

Does It Matte-r?

January 28, 2013

I love Matte Finish nail polish. Love. I adore it even more then glitter. The only downfall is that it just doesn’t last. I have several different matte finish top coats that I have tried, but none have ever increased the wearability to the point that I have been impressed. I have even gone as far as placing a regular shiny top coat over the matte polish then doing a top coat of matte. In some cases this does still alter the color/tone of the original matte polish.

I have a handful of the matte finish OPI’s, I have a couple Zoya’s and I do have several bottles of Man Glaze, which is my favorite. In addition to any other odd ones I have picked up. I love the way that the Man Glaze polishes finish, and they are super fun to change up with a glossy top coat or even some glitter. My goal is just to be able to wear them for more then 2-3 days as a matte finish.

I have tried matte top coats by China Glaze, Julep, CND, Essie and Man Glaze (which for some reason is always streaky, possibly a bad bottle?). I was jazzed to discover that OPI has a matte top coat coming out in the very near future. I am looking forward to getting my hands on that puppy. The Julep matte top coat is very decent. I just hate how small the bottle is. The China Glaze is pretty good, it does what its supposed to, and the CND leaves more of a “waxed” finish then a matte finish. In fact, it’s so milky it really does something to alter the color and even when applied thinly, it’s like a shiny waxy top coat. Not good. I feel like staking out my local beauty supply stores to make sure I can get a bottle of the new OPI matte top coat as soon as it comes in.

I’m currently at my office as I am writing this and I don’t have all my different top coats here. I think I may have to do a a show and tell of finishes later when I am home. Sounds like a fun project to me!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

