Skip to content

Keeping My Hands Busy

February 5, 2013

I am typically very careful with my hands. Very. They earn me my livelihood, so I take great care. Yesterday was an exception. I decided to recreate something I saw on Pinterest, it is turning out really well, but it trashed my hands.

My project was to turn the door to a cabinet that houses our ac/heating unit into a magnetized chalkboard. Eventually the outside of the door will be framed out with some left over base board trimmings, but JR is going to help with that at a later time. I knew that I had several layers of paint that had to be put on, plus the chalkboard paint has to sit for three days before I can gently smooth it out and then condition it for use.

The magnetic paint is really awesome, and it really works! My heavier magnets won’t stay but all my lightweight ones stick right to it! The paint itself is super sticky and I could actually feel it making my sponge brush heavier as I use it. Word to the wise, wear gloves. Its hard to get off. I used a combination of olive oil and Comet to get it off my hands, and only got some of it.I am just waiting to do a second coat of the chalkboard paint before I go to bed tonight and then it will sit until Friday.

Yesterday I also had my hair dyed purple again. Its really, really dark this time. I woke up with half my face purple and the better part of my left hand was stained. Apparently I sleep with my hand tucked under my head. I scrubbed my hand in the shower, only to have it and my right hand turn purple after washing and conditioning my hair….

Seriously, I had purple hands, in addition to the remnants of magnetic paint lodged under my nails and stuck to my cuticles. I after more scrubbing didn’t work and even a putting body lotion on (which tinged my legs purple), I used a 15% glycolic peel and that helped quite a bit. I also refreshed my nails with a coat of Essie’s Stylenomics. Its a gorgeous dark green, almost black, cream.

I did one massage today and three nails chipped. It wasn’t my day. I am trying to be so careful with my hands, but what can you do. My palms are no longer purple, I have a bit of magnetic paint still on them, but I expect the same thing in tomorrow’s shower, purple hands. I did fix my nail polish and even added some leopard spots that are more abstract then real looking. I hope that my whole week won’t be that way, but I am really looking forward to my chalkboard project, will share when I get to condition and use it!

My bare nails with hair color stains and magnetic paint under my nails. Very attractive.

My bare nails with hair color stains and magnetic paint under my nails. Very attractive.

Essie's Stylenomics, amazing dark green cream.

Essie’s Stylenomics, amazing dark green cream.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving History Through Imagery

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

