Skip to content

Ideal Working Conditions

February 24, 2013

Let me just start by saying that if I could have a Friday and Saturday every week like the ones I just had, not only would I have that extra cash saved for a Disneyland trip for our anniversary, but I would be rich in my friendships too.

I started Friday off with a makeup application for my hairdresser. She was headed to an out of town wedding that night and wanted her makeup to look amazing. I was happy to do it for her, I don’t get to do makeup for others enough. After her I saw two of my regular clients. One massage and another a facial wax. I had a large gap in my day and was thinking of going down the road to my brother’s restaurant. Purely by chance when they were location shopping, he ended up a mile from my office. I texted K to see if she could meet me there, and she was absolutely game.

We had lunch together inside only so we could talk to my mom between her having to take orders. It was perfect weather to be outside, but half the reason I go to the restaurant is to see my family. (More then half, but the veggie burger is killer and always tides me over for the rest of the day!)

I went back to work to do a wax on another client who has become a dear friend over the years. She was getting a quick wax, but we already had a breakfast date planned for The next morning. I followed her wax with two more massages then hopped into my car to run across town to help S out with her chronic pain. EC started dating her a few months ago and I have adored her since the day I met her. She’s giving, open minded, honest and funny. I didn’t like that she was hurting and she took me up on my offer to come to her to massage her.

Earlier in the day M called and also wanted to get a wax. I told her I would just come to her house by 9pm since she lives around the corner from S. I ended up meeting her and CC at a cute Mexican place to have margaritas in celebration of National Margarita Day (Another made up “holiday”, but really an excuse to drink margaritas and listen to mariachi. Like we ever need an excuse to do that!). CC went home after and I did a quick wax on M, finishing my day out about 10:30 by the time I got home. It was a long Friday, but very fulfilling. Saturday was more of the same.

I got up early to meet MC and have a breakfast that included a coffee that made me feel jittery for the rest of the day. So worth it though to have her company during her busy school schedule. I went over to my office afterwards to do 2 shellac manicures, a face wax and a hot stone massage. I used most of my talents over the last two work days, and i always find that satisfying. CC was texting me all morning because he was making plans for some of our friends to join us at the house later.

My last client was a friend from high School’s husband who is going later this week for a tattoo from my guy. Now all I can think about is getting a tattoo. I have two that need to be finished. I guess I will be calling C to ink me. I should probably call him anyway, haven’t seen him since he joined us at New Year’s on the coast.

I hit Trader Joe’s on my way home for munches since our friends were bringing the drinks. M came over and we made Fireball and apple juice jello shooters in small hollowed out apples. A-maz-ing! J and N also joined us, which was awesome. We have been seeing them about every other weekend, we have fun together. They are great clients and J has even helped us out in the snack bar at games. EC and S came too, we spent almost all of last weekend with them, but S was feeling better after her massage and CC wanted to see them again.

The night was filled with giggles, fun drinks and great food. It was the perfect cap to my work week. I would love to have my Friday’s and Saturday’s always be like this. I wasn’t even exhausted from work, I was content in the time I spent with our crazy friends who I am lucky enough to also take care of and pamper.

2 Comments
  1. Here’s to good days and to Disneyland 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

