Skip to content

Massage Music?

March 6, 2013

Yesterday I was up at the other spa that I fill in at. We had two lovely ladies that came in together to get a body scrub and a 90 minute massage together. Simple and very relaxing. Mike, the other CMT I was working with, and I got started and we both fell into our grooves. 30 minutes into the massage and the CD changed. What happened next was nearly comical.

The next CD started and, to be frank, it sounded like someone breaking wind. Loudly. It took us both a minute to realize that it was simply a didgeridoo. A very loud didgeridoo. Mike was closer to the stereo and he very quietly changed to the next track on the CD. We controlled our giggles and the ladies never noticed.

Some sounds should just not be used for massage. While I love the didgeridoo and respect how difficult it can be to play, I do not like it for massage. Yesterday sealed that for me. I also don’t do dolphin sounds. They sound like screaming children. Whales are mostly okay, but unless its a whales for massage CD you inevitably get whale noises that sound like bodily functions. Not relaxing. I don’t usually buy massage music anymore. I mostly trade with my other massage and esthetician friends. Pandora has however solved a lot of those issues. So has satellite radio. Makes my job easier. I hate having to think about the music. I was once in a session and the song that came on the spa channel was a love song to goddesses. Bad, bad, bad. The singer was talking about lovers and other odd things. The client and myself where both like, “What the hell?”

Its not that I concentrate so much on the music, but its hard not to pay attention when my client is asleep and I am in a good massage groove. You need good background music for massage.

From → Massage

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

