Skip to content

Break Free From Your Brands

March 29, 2013

I don’t consider myself to be a nail polish snob, or even a snob with my makeup or facial care products. While yes, there just are some brands I will not buy, I generally am not too choosy because I always like to try new things, I hate being stuck in a rut. There are always new things in this industry, blink, and sometimes you will miss them.

I know of several gals who won’t buy anything other then OPI polishes. I think that’s a shame. You really limit yourself and the possibility to try something new. OPI is great, there’s just so much more going on in the polish world then they offer.

I tend to stay within professional brand polishes and independents. One company I hardly buy from, but every so often they surprise me and blow me out of the water. That brand is Orly. While I love their base and top coats, I just usually tend to bypass their polishes. Sure over the years I have picked up bottles that are coveted or grabbed something in passing that jumped out at me, but mostly I just over look them.

A few weeks ago I picked up High On Hope, which I believe is from their spring collection. I love it. It kind of reminds me of well loved denim. It has a pretty pink and purple flash to it in the sun and is like nothing else I own. I will be happy that this is in my collection. It’s easy to wear and it’s unexpected. I find that I can say that about most of the Orly polishes I own. They aren’t the same old same old.

20130329-103030.jpg

I truly don’t understand how people decide to only shop from one brand. I’ve never been able to limit myself that way. I’d never have tried half the polishes I own if I had that mentality. I understand if it’s an issue of an allergy, but otherwise, why impose limits? It’s like with hair care products. I am well married to my shampoo and conditioner, but as far as styling aids go, I am always throwing something new in my hair. If its on sale, color safe and new, it will usually end up in my cart. That’s the best part of short hair, it’s fun to play with. The same goes for makeup. I can’t commit to one product line, there’s just too much good stuff out there!

Today I say break your limits. Challenge yourself, try something new. That’s how I have been feeling lately. I need to be shoved outside of my comfort zone. Whether its buying something different or working toward a goal. The sky’s the limit right now, I’m the only one who can hold me back. Maybe High On Hope is a great sentiment and reminder, accepting a challenge brings on change, and that’s a great thing to hope for.

From → Beauty, Nail Polish

2 Comments
  1. Any difference in the new bottles? I so love my polish racks to be tidy. LOL. I hate it when brands change their packaging.

    Like

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

