Skip to content

Real Job?

June 1, 2013

Had to share a funny insight that I came to this week. I was chatting with a client that currently works for the state. She used to work as a massage therapist, just like me. She and I were discussing the advantages and disadvantages to being employed as opposed to being an independent contractor or self employed. So many former massage therapists refer to their post-massage work as their “real job”. As if doing massage is really a hobby or something you do before you realize you have to grow up and face reality.

I have always considered this my real job. I’ve even had people (and even clients on occasion) ask when I was going to go out in the work force and get a regular job. I love what I do. I was born to share this with other people. I was made to take care of others and ease pain, to help people relax. This is my real job.

It’s not temporary. It’s not something to to fill a void until I find my “dream job”, this is that dream job! I make my own schedule. I am my own boss. The only people that I have to listen to are my clients! I will do this until my body gives out.

My that’s why sometimes it doesn’t feel like a “real” job. You aren’t supposed to have fun at work, maybe you aren’t supposed to love what you do. Maybe that’s why it doesn’t feel real. I consider it a blessing, not a job. It’s something I share, not something I “do”. I have even started referring to my office as my studio. Its where I’d create happiness. It’s where I perform my art. I create beautiful brows, I create nail magic. This is just how I happen to spend my day. My husband will ask me how my work day was and what I did during the day. I don’t like to talk about my work because it’s not work, it’s a labor of love. It’s just the way I look at it. It’s the perspective, and the view is excellent! This is my real job!

From → Massage, My work

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

