Skip to content

Supporting Other’s Ventures

July 12, 2013

One of the things I have concentrated on this year is helping support my friend’s businesses. I have a lot of friends who sell direct marking type products and since most of them support me, I am returning the favor. I have purchased from Scentsy, Pampered Chef (which is cool because I hosted a party, I get 10% off everything else I order this year!), Premier Jewelry, Passion Parties, and most recently this week, Mary Kay.

I hadn’t used Mary Kay myself in probably 11 years. I have no reason since to try it, but a dear friend started selling it and I wanted to support her. I went to an event on Tuesday and ended up purchasing their eye make-up remover. It seriously melted everything off my eyes in one swipe of a cotton round! I also purchased their brow gel because it was something I needed, mine’s all funky. The event I went to was training for her and a learning night for me. She got a lecture on eye makeup and I gave myself a facial and put on some of the above mentioned makeup. It seems as though Mary Kay products have grown up. They felt amazing and after a few days, my skin still feels good. I will probably be ordering a moisturizer from them when I run out of what I am currently using. The foundation i tried wasn’t to my liking, but I went in with an open mind. I’d happily buy additional product. All that matters is that it’s effective and that I don’t have an adverse reaction to it.

The only thing that bothered me during my evening was the gal on stage doing another gal’s makeup. There are certain things I have learned from going to beauty school and doing makeup on the public. DON’T BLOW ON YOUR MAKEUP BRUSHES THEN PUT THEM ON SOMEONE ELSE’S FACE. YOU JUST PUT ALL YOUR MOUTH GERMS ON SOMEONE’S EYE! She did this at least 6-7 times. I cringed every time. Also, she was double dipping back into her makeup pallet. If the model had pink eye, the consultant’s whole pallet would now be infected. I couldn’t get past it. I finally had to stop looking. One of the other gals on stage was supposedly also an esthetician at some point. WHY ON EARTH DIDN’T SHE SAY SOMETHING?!

Anyway. All in all I had fun. I enjoyed trying the products, I can’t wait to get what I ordered. Plus, I got to support my friend, which I am sure I will get to continue to do. I’ll be happy to review the eye makeup remover when I get it. I’m looking forward to it!

From → Beauty, Friendship

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

