Skip to content

2013 Football Is Upon Us…I’m Not Ready

August 31, 2013

I have been putting off doing a football post all summer. Next Friday is our first game. It’s an away game, but it’s the start of the season. I feel like this summer has been the longest pre-season yet. It’s been filled with drama and long days (for CC). Our booster club no longer exists. Huge victory. Huge. How this effects us long term, we don’t know yet, but there’s so much bullshit we don’t have to deal with, like having funds stolen and being spend on rugby.

It’s been hard though. CC hasn’t been around much except for during the dead period. His days have been very long and he sleeps within a few hours of coming home. It’s hard, very hard. This is the part that I struggle with the most. When I need the help or just time with him and he’s so unreachable and unavailable. I know how important this first win is. I know how much it means to everyone. I need it just as badly as everyone else does. CC needs it to prove that he can do this. That he can take the team no one wanted and make it a winner. I know the overtime that he has put in, the blood sweat and tears that is left behind when his day is done. I get it. I feel that I take a burden of this as well because it’s my marriage, it’s my time not spent with him. it’s been harder as the weeks have gone on too.

There’s a new coach on staff that I do not care for. We’ve had coaches before that had less then desirable personalities, but this one really rubs me the wrong way. It takes a lot for me to flat out not like someone, and this person I haven’t been able to get behind since day one. I don’t even like him in my house, and it’s really become an issue between CC and I. That’s awesome if he’s a great coach and if the kids like him, that is the most important thing. there is just something so off putting about him that I can’t seem to get past. It’s starting to take away my ability to really get into this season. As much as I know that we need the wins, the drama has been so over the top this summer that I feel as though I could skip this season all together.

I know I won’t though. I’ll be at every game. I’ll take in every moment. I rejoice in the wins and cry at the losses. Hopefully there won’t be many. Too much work has been put in and I don’t think I could sit though the games if we come up empty handed. It would just add insult to injury. This season will be my 5th. 4th actually as a coach’s wife. It doesn’t get any easier. No two seasons are the same. Every year it is just as hard to go to parties alone and structure my work schedule just right as to not miss any games and to give myself proper driving time to get there in the first place. There’s an odd flavor to this year. Desperation maybe? A do or die type feeling has set in.

Between the booster club crap, ridiculous parents and minimal one-on-one time with CC, this season will no doubt go down as one of the longest. I don’t mean to be so melancholy already but…..is it November yet?

From → Football, Marriage

2 Comments
  1. Sean Breslin permalink

    I’m taking this morning to mentally prepare myself for the season, because I’m not ready either!

    Like

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

