Skip to content

Year End Closure

December 31, 2013

20131231-012241.jpg

It never ceases to amaze me when we come up to the coast. I’m always awestruck and in disbelief of the power of the ocean. And this house that we always stay in, i’m never quite aware that we are here until we leave. Its breathtaking views and clarifying energy always take me by surprise.

CC and I have been here 5 times, I have been here one additional time without him. I can easily tell where we are in our marriage based on the quality of the trip we have up here. It sounds odd, but it’s true. A month after the first time I came to this house in Fort Bragg, he proposed, I was giddy and delighting in a new relationship. 10 months later we came back together and shared 4 amazing days. A year later we came amid struggles in our love and questioning the future. Tonight, I sit here, with him sound asleep, while I lay awake feeling more secure and less fearful then I have ever been in any relationship.

The second time here together was so hard. Our first year of marriage was such a hard adjustment. It took so much out of both of us to be the supportive other half the other needed. We both were still learning the extent of what we promised the other. That was difficult, but we succeed in overcoming. Oddly enough, the battles against football parents and his on and off field football struggles paved the way to get where we are right now.

Even tonight, as we share the space of the house with a few close friends, I know that we have found a rhythm within one another that I have been looking forward to achieving since the day I took my marital vows.

CC and I have dug through an uphill battle that I never expected to fight. I never knew that I could love and support someone in the way that I do him. The last year has come with a whole new set of challenges, but because we finally faced these things as a team and not as separate entities, they were easier to overcome. We finally found our rhythm. We have finally discovered a balance to meeting each other’s needs. Not to say its perfect, because there’s always room for growth. BUT, we are closer everyday to really understanding the ebbs and flows of our relationship and the expectation of each other within it.

He gets me. He’s the most valuable thing I have. There are certainly days where I feel like I can accomplish anything because of the love he gives me. I genuinely feared that I would never to get this part of my marriage, but it snuck up on me this year. After 3 1/2 years I finally feel grateful. It was so hard, even a year ago I felt guilty for having those feelings of doubt and disbelief that it would work out. I always worried if it was “normal” for a new bride to feel that way or not. It wasn’t the happily ever after I expected. It was much harder then simply having my prince charming slip on the correct fitting slipper.

Then again, I married the court jester, and I’m still laughing…

From → Marriage

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

