Skip to content

New Year’s Challenges, Not Resolutions

February 18, 2014

I never make new year’s resolutions. I don’t like them. I feel that I don’t need a new year to make life changes, I can do that any day. What I did this year was make two promises to myself. Well, technically one is a challenge, okay, they both are.

1. I have challenged myself to read at least one book a week. It makes me step away from social media and I have already gotten through some books that I have been meaning to read or have wanted to read. I’m also a head in my reading. This is week 8 of 2014, and I have read 11 books. It’s given me something else to think about and I’m enjoying spending time expanding my brain. I still read actual books. I’m not a fan of reading from digital devices, plus that defeats my purpose of “unplugging”.

2. I have challenged myself ( and CC, but I think I hold him more accountable then he does himself) to be less negative. I’m trying to see all people and things in a positive light. Obviously “bad” things will happen, thats inevitable, but my goal is to not let those things own me when it happens. I want to continue to bring more love and joy into my life, and keeping negative thoughts at bay is a huge part of keeping my heart light. I have also in conjunction with that been purging material things we don’t need. Less is always more, right?

I think these were two excellent challenges. And so far, I’ve been able to do them both. It is only February, and there’s 10 more months to go, but I can do this.

Let me know if you guy want me to post a book list of what I’ve read so far this year, I am keeping track!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

