Skip to content

Product Fail

June 4, 2014

I think I have mentioned before that I have the best clients in the world, sure I’m probably biased, but I adore them. They are so fabulous that they even let me test out new products on them. I do try to yet things out on myself first, but eventually I have to try out a new product (or even a new technique) on someone.

This week was no exception. On Monday I had a client that got to experience 2 new products. The first one was a mask that we both thought was amazing. The next was a massage medium that was a little creepy, and frankly, kinda gross.

I had this small, 2 oz bottle that came with another product. This was a detox kit from Cuccio. You sit with your feet in a tub of water for 15 minutes after dropping this fizzy disc into the water that helps you “detox”. Then you do a somatic massage with this massage medium. Well, um, okay. Sounds good right? I used the fizzy disc on myself months ago and never tried the massage “oil” after. I was unimpressed with this product, so I wasn’t inclined to use the massage product. I found in Monday morning in my cupboard of work goodies and decided to try it. You never know, could have been amazing and I was missing out.

Not so much. I decided to use this product to do the massage part of my pedicure with. Ugh, to start with, as I squirted the product into my hand, it looked gross. In fact, it reminded me of a personal lubricant. I didn’t have to say this out loud, because my client blurted it out for me. I simply agreed!

I then did my massage. As you can imagine, it felt like I was rubbing personal lubricant all over her legs. I think the texture came from the hydrolyzed silk that was in the “serum”. No joke, the label referred to the product as a serum. Warning sign number one. It was gross. Is worked well enough for massage, but the skin couldn’t absorb it. I proceeded to do both legs, but ended up having to remove a lot of excess with a clean, dry towel. Her skin did look great, and it feel lovely, but I couldn’t ever using this product again in anyone.

My client and I shared a good laugh. She even texted her husband (who is friends with my husband) that I had “lubed her all up”. It was funny, but ultimately, this was a fail.

Sometimes you never know, and that is why it’s always good to have clients willing to occasionally be product testers!

Photos of failed product for reference:

20140604-101004.jpg

20140604-101011.jpg

From → Beauty, Massage, My work

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

