Skip to content

Kids Don’t Belong In Salons

September 9, 2014

Let me just start by saying that I don’t typically work on Monday’s. It’s usually my only other day off other then Sunday. However, I booked a client for a massage at my friend’s salon yesterday because she usually comes in to see me on Saturday mornings and as of late, that hasn’t been working. Since I’d rather keep her business, I’m willing to adjust my schedule to accommodate her. Especially during football season when I lose availability on Fridays. (This gal comes in every two weeks for a 90 minute massage and always tips $35. Seriously worth making sacrifices for. Additionally, she’s very kind and very sweet.)

Anyway. I got to the salon 20 minutes before my appointment. (I always arrive 20 before my first appointment of the day. This allows for time to setup and make sure I have everything I need. I don’t like to rush.) One of the owners was in the salon, as was a stylist that always works opposite days from me. She was an instructor at the beauty school I went to and I remember her being there went I went back for my manicuring license.

For whatever reason this person decided that it was appropriate to bring in her 3 year old and 9 month old in while she did hair. The baby was quiet initially and the toddler seemed well behaved, I didn’t think twice about it until I started my massage.

Holy bajeezus. A screaming baby and a just as loud cranky toddler? Not okay. Especially when my massage room butts up to the shampoo bowls! They girls are pretty courteous of me usually, but this gal didn’t understand or didn’t care that I could hear her kids! I could also hear her yell at the toddler!

I turned on a fan in my room to create white noise and it seemed to help. My client didn’t seem to notice anyway. I know she has small grandchildren that she watches, but maybe she didn’t care. Who knows. She didn’t say anything after the massage either. Just came out with a huge smile on her face as usual.

When I came out of the massage I immediately texted the owner about what happened and how we can make sure it doesn’t happen again. I had decided at this point (especially since I had some time to stew on it) that I would let ownership handle this issue because I don’t know this particular hairdresser very well and people can get pissy when you complain about things regarding their children.

While I was sitting at the front desk, the owner came out of the back and she was livid. She was mortified that the kids were there and that they were so noisy. She hadn’t even read my text yet and had already gave this stylist the riot act. I didn’t even know she was there. She was supposed to be going to the gym (Monday’s are her day off).

I was grateful that she had witnessed the noise and that I didn’t need to pitch a fit. I am a firm believer that the only reason any child should be in the salon is if they are receiving a service. I don’t care if they are the child of someone working in the salon or those of a client. They don’t belong here. This is a place they people come to get pampered and taken care of. Most people do not come in to a salon to have to be around and listen to other people’s kids. Leave them at home. They have no business disturbing those that come to salons to get away from their kids.

It was a hell of a way to start my week. After that I had the whole day off. I went to the mall and spend an hour playing at Mac. Not a bad day. Just supremely grateful for excellent salon owners. That could have gone one of two ways and makes me so happy that i still have my studio office. It’s good to options, and a child free spa zone.

From → My work

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

