Skip to content

Essential Oil Routine for Massage 

August 16, 2016

Recently I was asked to help lead a YoungLiving class on massage and essential oils. The focus is to help people create a spa environment in their own homes. I was asked to share my own routine in the treatment room, and since I typed it up, I figured I may as well share it with you too!
Essential oil routine I use in my studio:

At the beginning of day I clean the defuser and chose the day’s oils. Typically I do lavender (relaxation) and cedarwood (grounding). I also like citrus blends (jade lemon, lemongrass, citrus fresh, grapefruit) or florals (geranium, basil) or a combination there of if I am doing waxing or nail services. I have found that I prefer to use individual notes instead of blends in my defuser, blends like Stress Away can make me too relaxed and sometimes sleepy, which isn’t good in the middle of my work day!

I get the massage table ready with clean linens and spritz lavender and purification between the sheets and over the top of the table after I finish. Before my client comes in, I also like to spritz myself with a blend of purification and grounding. I believe this helps to prepare myself and my energy for the client, it also sets the tone that my space is ready to welcome the client. 

I use pure coconut oil for my massage medium. I prefer non-fractionated, and it is easy to customize with oils or use alone. Coconut oil moisturizes the skin without leaving it greasy or leaving a residue. It gives an excellent slip and glide for massage, plus very few people are allergic to it and it washes very cleanly from sheets and towels. 

Oils I may add to my massage base: 

Lavender: for relaxation

Stress Away blend: for clients needing extra help relaxing and those experiencing tension headaches, people who find relaxing difficult

Purification: if the client is getting over a cold, fighting one off, under a lot of stress, experiencing outside emotional issues, exuding or needs to be cleansed of negative energy

R.C blend: allergy sufferers, anyone getting over any sinus issue, to help relieve the stuffy head people get from laying in a massage head cradle

PanAway blend: for my athletes and crossfitters

YoungLiving does make massage oil blends. All should be shaken well before use. I use these in conjunction with my coconut oil massage base. Can be used alone. Here are a few I utilize:

V-6 Vegetable Oil Complex: can be used to create custom massage oil blends or to dilute essential oils for sensitive skin. Ingredients: coconut oil, sesame oil, grape seed oil, sweet almond oil, wheat germ oil, sunflower seed oil, olive oil. 

Ortho Ease Massage Oil: I use this on clients experiencing tension, overworked muscles, when doing deep tissue work. Ingredients: coconut oil, wintergreen, grape seed oil, peppermint, juniper, eucalyptus globulus, eucalyptus radiata, thyme, lemongrass, marjoram, vetiver, wheat germ oil, sweet almond oil, olive oil

Ortho Sport Massage Oil: used on athletes, clients who have physical labor jobs, post work out. Ingredients: coconut oil, grape seed oil, wintergreen, peppermint, oregano, eucalyptus globulus, Elena, wheat germ oil, vetiver, lemongrass, sweet almond oil, thyme, olive oil.

Relaxation massage oil: high stress clients, hard to relax clients, tension, headaches, PMS issues, clients experiencing restlessness. Ingredients: coconut oil, grape seed oil, tangerine, lavender, spearmint, ylang ylang, peppermint, coriander, bergamot, wheat germ oil, sweet almond oil, olive oil, geranium. 

I like to finish my massages with the feet, and I like to add a couple drops of peppermint oil to the feet. It’s cooling and refreshing after a long day, feels great when it’s so hot outside and during the winter can be very comforting as a holiday scent. 

After I clean up my room when I am done with my client, I again spritz the room with my purification/grounding blend. It refreshes the air and gets the energy in the space ready for the next client. 

The blends I use contain similar single note essential oils, making it easy for my space to have a signature scent that creates an atmosphere that is relaxing, inviting and safe when people come into my office. Additionally, I’m creating olfactory memories with my clients. They will remember the smells of the oils I use and when they smell them outside of my massage space, hopefully the emotional response will trigger an association with happiness, relaxation, and comfort.

Noted blends are all YoungLiving

Purification: citronella, lemongrass, Rosemary, melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree), lavandin, myrtle

Stress Away: copaiba, lime, cedarwood, vanilla, ocotea, lavender 

R.C: myrtle, eucalyptus globulus, marjoram, pine, eucalyptus citriodora, lavender, cypress, eucalyptus radiata, spruce, peppermint

Grounding: white fir, spruce, ylang ylang, pine, cedarwood, Angelica, juniper

PanAway: wintergreen, helichrysum, clove, peppermint 

Additionally, I know I didn’t touch on Raindrop Therapy, which is hugely popular and YoungLiving makes a great kit for this modality. I have been trained to do Raindrop, but the combination of oils makes me violently ill. It’s been several years since I have attempted the modality, and I am willing to try it again, but at the time I do not practice it. 

From → Massage, My work

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

OLD - Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

