Skip to content

Cut the Crap

November 16, 2016

I’ve been on a mission this month to get rid of or use up older beauty products. I have so many things in my home (and at my office) that I really need to use, sell, donate or throw out. I did a mini clean up of my make up case this morning, and I got rid of a lot of stuff. Nearly everything  that I didn’t buy this year that was still sitting in the kit got thrown out. If it wasn’t opened it went into a pile on my desk to get sold on eBay. There was quite a few things that ended up in both piles.
I have my nighttime routine products in my downstairs bathroom, and that cabinet was cleaned out last month, I’ve been slowly doing the same in the upstairs bathroom. I realized that I also have a habit of saving the empty containers of products that I would like to purchase again. These I put aside under the bathroom sink. Next year I will remember why I saved them, laugh at myself and then throw them away. This is a perfectly acceptable plan of action. (For then most part I’m pretty good about repurchasing my favorites, but I keep empties as a reminder.)
At work I’ve been trying to work my way through half empty tubes of hand cream and foot/body scrubs. I’m not allowing myself to buy anything new as long as I have things that I can use. At work I am really good about writing the dates I opened products on their containers. That way I can easily chuck something that has been opened for too long. I like having an assortment of scents for clients to chose from for their services, but all those unused products are literally money sitting on the shelves. If it’s something I haven’t opened, I smack a price tag on it and sell it if it isn’t too old.

I can’t hoard products anymore. I don’t have the space. Additionally, I think in the next year or two we will be moving. Maybe in town, possibly 100 miles away, and there is the tiniest possibility we could end up out of the country. (no joke, CC was invited to come coach American football overseas, apparently they need coaches in European countries like American football.) 
Anyway, if moving is at all a possibility, I want to cut down on the clutter, that includes cosmetics as well as household goods. Also, I get tired of stuff. I can’t justify keeping things I won’t use or don’t like. I have no problem with chucking a product I don’t like, just like I always have a box I’m filling for charity donations. When I’m done, I’m done. Moving on.

From → Beauty, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MyJourney-ontheRox

fitness, inspiration, health

thoughts & writings

by lauren wrockloff nelson

life in lipstick

keep your head, heels, and standards high

Everything & Nothin'

A Little Bit of Everything & A Whole Lot of Nothin'

Dermatologist's Garden

Dermatologist's Garden

Architectural Afterlife

Preserving Our Almost Lost History

About A Girl...

beer, a pen, adapting. VS the world

Two Plus None Equals Free

Childless by choice and loving it!

Her Happy Trails

A journey led by a smile...

More Sand in My Hourglass

A plus size fashion blog

The Lacquered Girl

Beauty, Life, NAILS!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

The Mini Garden Guru From TwoGreenThumbs.com

The world's only blog completely dedicated to the art and craft of gardening in miniature. Please visit us at www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Must Have Boxes - Subscription Box Reviews

Get the latest subscription box reviews and discover your must-have products. Monthly reviews of Birchbox, Beauty Army, and more!

Ultimate Skincare & Beaute Report, LLC

Beaute And Grooming For Everyone!

wickednails

one girl. ten nails.

